This seminar will center around current translational research in the fields of immunogenicity and tolerance, with case studies touching on vaccines and biologics.

To date, the committee has confirmed the attendance of the following speakers:

Willem van Eden, MD, PhD (Utrecht University)

“Tolerogenic Dendritic cells as therapy for Rheumatoid Arthritis”

 Tom Ottenhof, MD, PhD (Leiden University Medical Center)

“New vaccination and therapeutic strategies against bacterial infectious diseases”

Rebecca Ashfield, PhD (Oxford University)

RH5: a candidate vaccine for blood stage P falciparum malaria

Rene Raeven, PhD (Intravacc)

“Effect of vaccine composition and immunization route on induction of innate immune responses and adaptive immunity against Bordetella pertussis”

 Vibha Jawa, PhD (Merck)

“Mechanisms behind immune response to minor impurities and their ability to break tolerance”

Amy Rosenberg, MD (United States Food and Drug Administration/Center for Drug Evaluation and Research)


This event is co-organized by the Leiden Academic Centre for Drug Research (LACDR), the Institute for Immunology and Informatics (University of Rhode Island) and EpiVax, Inc. The Scientific Committee includes Drs. Wim Jiskoot (LACDR), Bram Slütter (LACDR), Marieke van Ham (Sanquin), and Annie De Groot (EpiVax).

Interested in attending this seminar? Please register for the event here.

Interested in speaking or presenting at this seminar?

The Scientific Committee is still welcoming abstract submissions for consideration as either oral or in-person poster presentations. There is no fee to submit an abstract.

All submissions must be received by 11:59P.M EST on Sunday, September 9th, 2018.

Accepted abstracts will be no more than a page long, and the format will include only the following content:

  • Title
  • Authors
  • Affiliations
  • Abstract (250-word maximum)

Please submit your abstract here.

This is a not-for-profit event. All registration and sponsorship fees will be allocated to the cost of hosting the seminar.

A special thank you to our

Gold sponsor: 

Silver sponsor:

For more information, please contact Sarah Moniz at